City of Bones and Catch Up. 

Hello everyone!

So, I haven’t been able to blog for about a week or two now as I have been extremely busy with finishing up college and handing in my last assignment! It was an essay about Oedipus The King & A Doll’s House, for my critical analysis class. It was some tough work, but I always find essays okay once I’ve sat down and got all my facts straight! Plus, I enjoy writing! Why else would one have a blog? 

ANYWAY, now I’m all finished with the essay and my classes and I can focus more on my blog and my reading (Thank God!).

Before I was assigned the essay, I read City of Bones from The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. 

And I LOVED IT!!!  

Book: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare.

Rating: 5/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

*Spoiler free*

Highlights: 

I had to tear myself away from this book in order to get on with my life, to complete my mundane tasks. From the sassy and hilarious characters to the beautifully, addicting writing. Cassandra Clare created a world that pulls you in and won’t let go. I had already read The Infernal Devices before I started this book, so I had quite high expectations, and I was not disappointed in the slightest. Reading this book, I found myself not even paying attention to the words properly, it was like I was watching what was happening in my head or experiencing it even! Also, Jace Wayland? Yes, please.

Downfalls:

I don’t think this book really has any downfalls. The main character Clary Fray can be a tiny bit irritating at times but she has just been catapulted head first into this Shadowhunter world after living a completely normal life in New York City, so I suppose she can get away with it for now! Also the ending, we are left on a bit of a cliffhanger, which isn’t too bad if you have the next book on standby (which I did) but is a little bit of a let down after the exciting and stress inducing experience you have just been through.

Overall, this book is a perfect example of a fun and exciting YA fantasy read with beautiful, relatable characters and a gorgeous hero. My favourite kind of book! 

*BTW, these are all my own opinions based on my own experience while reading the book. You may or may not agree with them. And that’s okay! 

Current read: I am currently halfway through City of Ashes, the second book of The Mortal Instruments series and I am also LOVING it!!! 

Current obsession: The Mortal Instruments, Josh Hutcherson and Instagram. 

Thank you SO, SO MUCH for reading! Don’t forget to like and comment below your opinions on City of Bones or just anything about books, etc. in general!

Mel, xoxo

  


Leave a Reply

